News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

GenCon 2004 newbie questions

Started by Steve Samson, March 01, 2004, 12:51:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve Samson

I've never been to GenCon, but I'd like to make the trip this year. I went to DunDraCon once a few years back, but that's my only experience with gaming conventions. I have several questions...

1. What is the best way for an unknown designer to promote/sell their first published effort at a big convention? Is a spot in the Forge booth and good marketing materials/demos the best way to get started? Can I just show up at the booth with a box of games and some handouts and dazzle everyone or do I need a better plan than that? :)

2. As a related question, what is the best way to promote my game on RPG.net and other gaming websites? Is it important that I get some web-press before GenCon, or does the order (con/web, web/con) not make a difference?

3. While I am new to gaming conventions, I've attended and demo'd at a dozen or so computer conventions. Can anyone who has experienced both computer cons and game cons fill me in on the major differences from a booth/floor setup, demo style, and attendee mentality standpoint?

4. In general, for a rules-light RPG (figure maybe 80 pages) , how long should I plan for playtesting and printing? I'm planning on having an initial playtest draft ready for my group by mid-March, but I'll need other folks to test it as well before I can consider stamping it as "ready". Is this years con season too ambitious? If I miss the cons, does that mean waiting until next year to publish or is web-only promotion/sales viable?

5. Obviously, I'll want some means of selling my game over the internet in place before GenCon. What is involved in a PayPal/Forge Bookshelf system such as the one I used to purchase InSpectres? (Great game by the way, Jared. Great concept, great implementation, great presentation!)