*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 10, 2022, 05:48:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 72 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Capes Rules Questions  (Read 5325 times)
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1351


« on: July 20, 2005, 09:38:42 AM »

Hello

We've run through a few capes sessions and I have some rules questions.

1) Can I stake debt on a side I'm not allied with?
2) Assuming there is enough debt staked by someone, can I split dice on a side I'm not allied with?
3) Does Claiming a side count as Allying with it? (This assumes I'm Claiming a side of a Conflict I have not rolled at all on).

Thanks

Jesse
Logged
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2005, 09:48:15 AM »

A modified "No" on all of those.

The modification being that folks who have not yet participated in a conflict in any way (i.e. everybody in the instant after the conflict is created) can stake or claim most any side.  That sometimes makes for some pretty nasty tactical moves (such as momentarily supporting the winning side, only to push your own third-party agenda and screw everyone else!  Yay!)

But if there are Side A and Side B, and you are allied with Side A then you can't do much of anything to Side B.  You can't stake, you can't split, you can't claim.  It's not your side.

I hope this helps!
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1351


« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2005, 10:04:18 AM »

Thanks.

And just for completeness:

If I'm allied with Side A, I can still attempt to roll DOWN Side B, right?

Jesse
Logged
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2005, 10:08:01 AM »

Indeed.  You can always roll any side any way you want.  So you can be allied with Side A and roll down Side B without changing your alliance.  Or you can roll UP Side B, and now you're allied with Side B (even if you've staked on Side A and have to leave that Debt behind).

So, long-term, you can be Staked on all sides of a conflict.  It's just that you have to make rolls to change sides between Staking on A (when you're allied with them) and Staking on B.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1351


« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2005, 03:16:01 PM »

Great.  One more just to make sure I've been doing this right.

A player Claims Side A.  No one Claims Side B.  At the end of the page, Side B is in control.  The Conflict does not resolve and the Claim on Side A goes away (it can, of course, be reclaimed at the top of the next page).  Correct?

Jesse
Logged
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2005, 03:18:14 PM »

Correct.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!