News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[AmberCon NW 2005] Four Days, Seven Games

Started by Pôl Jackson, December 02, 2005, 10:39:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pôl Jackson

I recently spent four days at AmberCon NW 2005. I've been attending this Con every November, for going on six years now. This year, I had a lot of "ten minutes of fun packed into four hours of play" experiences. I had a fantastic time being on vacation - socializing with familiar faces, meeting new people, eating at the five-star restaurant, experimenting with mixed drinks, and soaking up the atmosphere at the fabulous Edgefield hotel. But a lot of the gaming itself didn't really grab me, somehow.

The games:

* The most disappointing game for me was "Amber's Watchdogs", run by Michael Sullivan. In "Amber's Watchdogs", the players were young princes and princesses of Amber, competing for the King's approval by seeing who could best deal with an invading army. Michael had taken the dice mechanic out of DitV, and was using it to run a much more tactical game. Commonly, player's would announce an action; dice would be rolled the determine if the action was successful or not; and Michael would decide what effect this would have on the situation as a whole (including whether or not the character was currying the King's favor.) It struck me as being very traditional Amber, in that the GM acts as the sole gateway for interpreting how character actions affect the game world.