*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 13, 2022, 01:19:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 54 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Who is a Loser?  (Read 4931 times)
dunlaing
Member

Posts: 308

My name is Bill


« on: December 20, 2005, 07:20:17 AM »

Let's say (for instance) that Player S creates a conflict like "Drive possessor of the chest mad,...Lovecraft-style!" and then never actually rolls it up (although it's pretty clear that Player S is on the for side. Then Player M rolls up the for side. Then Player D rolls up the against side and stakes 4 debt on it and wins the conflict.

Technically, are both Player S and Player M "losers" according to the rules (and thus eligible for Story Tokens)? Or is only Player M a "loser" since Player S never rolled (either as an action or a reaction)?
Logged
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2005, 07:41:51 AM »

Wow ... errata at this late date!  Well caught!

On page 30, the paragraph that starts:
Quote
If the character who created the Conflict is on the losing side
... should read ...
Quote
If the character who created the Conflict is not allied to the winning side

Thus, player S is eligible for his one Story Token reward for having not won the conflict he created.  But he is not eligible for any further rewards, because he has not at any point been allied with the losing side of the conflict.  Not-winning gets him the first token, but doesn't make him eligible for the rewards of losing.

Thanks for spotting!  That's ... that's intricate, that is.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
dunlaing
Member

Posts: 308

My name is Bill


« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2005, 07:54:23 AM »

Thanks for spotting!  That's ... that's intricate, that is.
Well, it's not like I thought up the situation using my super-genius,... it just sort of came up.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!