Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Started by jburneko, September 25, 2001, 03:47:00 PM
QuoteThe main thing to realize is that the basic, fundamental goal of #1 is NOT guaranteed. In fact (and this is going to hurt!), (a) is incorrect. That's right - if X gets a higher roll than Y, X is screwed! His action goes off BEFORE Y's, in a classic fuckup of interpersonal timing. This result is going to horrify gamers who are not used to it.
QuoteThe (c) issue does get tricky. What I do is simply give the PC the extra dice right then and there, which may change his highest-value but does NOT change the order of action.
QuoteSigh ... where that "infinite number" comes from, I don't know. This conclusion is not supported in the rules, which do NOT support the idea that a non-conflict task takes no in-game-world time.
QuoteJesse, a lot of these questions are arising out of the difference between the traditional RPG announce/resolve paradigm and the one in Sorcerer (which is imitated in part from Zero, by the way). Each one follows its own logic and puts player decisions in particular places; each one works fine for its purposes. But neither satisfies or corresponds to the assumptions and decisions of the other.