The Forge Forums

Independent Game Forums => lumpley games => Topic started by: Kevin.Weiser on February 15, 2010, 07:03:07 AM



Title: A couple Poison'd Questions
Post by: Kevin.Weiser on February 15, 2010, 07:03:07 AM
1: Do the effects of multiple Wear and Breakages stack with one another? There are multiple ways to acquire the condition, what happens if you get it from two different circumstances?

2: The rules say that if you use X's to kill a named NPC before a mob fight, that affects the GM's dice. However, I can't find anything that says what having an NPC as part of a mob does in the first place. In fact, NPC captains don't seem to do anything at all. Help?


Title: Re: A couple Poison'd Questions
Post by: lumpley on February 16, 2010, 08:10:01 AM
1. I don't think I've ever played a game where Wear & Breakage came into play more than once at a time; it's possible, but I don't think it's common. I don't have any strong opinion about whether they should stack, and I don't recommend that you decide up-front. Make a call the first time it happens, based upon your judgment of those precise circumstances. That call will become your precedent, to either affirm or revise over time.

2. NPC captains used to roll their brinksmanship in a fight, same as PCs, and that line is an orphan of those days. There may still be rare circumstances when it happens to apply, but it's not the usual case.

Now the NPC captain's brinksmanship determines whether the NPC side escalates in a fight.

-Vincent


Title: Re: A couple Poison'd Questions
Post by: Ben Lehman on February 16, 2010, 03:50:21 PM
My GM ruling is that, if wear and breakage happens twice, the boat sinks.

There's no basis in the text for this but, I mean, come on.

yrs--
--Ben


Title: Re: A couple Poison'd Questions
Post by: lumpley on February 17, 2010, 07:07:18 AM
Sold.

-Vincent