Main Menu

[DitV] Total Newbie

Started by Finarvyn, February 20, 2008, 08:59:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Finarvyn

I'm a total newbie to Dogs in the Vineyard. So new, in fact, that the copy I ordered hasn't even come in the mail yet. I should probably hold off on a post until I actually get and read my copy, but I couldn't wait.

I have some experinece with Sorcerer and Don't Rest Your Head, and a few other games discussed here on the Forge, but I'm not an expert on the "style" of gaming often discussed here. Most of my experience is D&D -- going back a few decades, but still a more hack-slash style than most Indie games.

What attracted me to Dogs in the Vineyard was (1) people speak very highly of it on this and other boards, and (2) several websites say that using DitV for a Firefly campaign is a fantastic mix.

So, what I'd like to know is:
1. Will DitV be a fast read, a quick learn, etc?
2. Are there any fast hints, guidelines, shortcuts, etc, that will make my learning this game faster?
3. Will conversion to Firefly be as simple as has been suggested, or am I in for more work than I had hoped?

Thanks in advance for any wisdom you share!
Marv (Finarvyn)
Sorcerer * Dresden Files RPG * Amber Diceless
Forge Member since 2004
OD&D Player since 1975

JC

hi :)

there are some threads around this board which pretty much answer your n°2

as far as I can remember, they deal mostly with town creation (DITV's name for GM prep)

lumpley

Welcome!

1-2) I did my best in the game text! Other people will be more help here than I will.

3) I think it'll probably be simple, but I haven't done it, so I'm not a good judge. Let us know?

-Vincent

Moreno R.

Hi, Marv!