[DitV] Rules clarification for a newbie

Started by Halfred, April 01, 2008, 08:38:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Halfred

Hi, folks. I'm very new to Dogs, but I threw caution to the wind and volunteered to run a game a small convention here in Vermont. I have run a couple brief sessions, each with one player, but it has made me hanker for a game with multiple dogs. I also have some questions, in no particular order.

During the initiatory conflict, the GM gets 4d6 + 4d10. Do I get to pull in 'things,' too? What about follow-up conflicts? The example of Brother Ezra and his profanity is great, but is it all from the original 8 dice? Or would that include dice for the two other NPCs?

The rules state in several places that a raise has to involve something that the opponent can't ignore. I was puzzling over how some of the more cinematic exchanges -- the flickering of light reflecting from the flipped coin, flashbacks and memory descriptions -- how do those qualify as something the opponent can't ignore?

I'm also trying to understand what signals escalation. Someone throwing a punch is obvious, but what about drawing a gun or knife and menacing your opponent? Is that escalation, or does escalation happen when the trigger is pulled or the stab is attempted? I read a thread here about being able to escalate to, say, just talking from a gunfight? I'm guessing that the dialog that might be interwoven with the gunfire doesn't qualify.

I'm inclined to try to run the con session with character generation and initiatory conflicts, with a couple of lists (names, traits) to facilitate. Anyone have any advice for running Dogs at a con?

Many thanks. (And thanks to Sons of Kryos for bringing the awesome game to my attention.)

--Geoff

jburneko

Hi.  I'm not Vincent but here are my answers and he can correct me.