*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 21, 2014, 10:29:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
46709 Posts in 5588 Topics by 13297 Members Latest Member: - Shane786 Most online today: 28 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Kickers in Schism?  (Read 2996 times)
Christopher Kubasik
Member

Posts: 1159


« on: March 28, 2008, 08:10:43 PM »

The rule book doesn't mention them.

Does the "Death Scene" replace the Kicker?  Would Kickers clash with the Death Scene?

If there is, in fact, no Kicker, is there a recommended method for getting the game going?

Thanks!

CK
Logged

"Can't we for once just do what we're supposed to do -- and then stop?
Lemonhead, The Shield
Christopher Kubasik
Member

Posts: 1159


« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2008, 09:44:47 PM »

And another Schism question:

In the section on Transcendence, the rules state:

Transcendence always has these three effects:
•   The discipline achieves to its maximum effect and has some kind of Telltale
•   The discipline gains an additional point to its Power score
•   The character loses one Humanity point


Now, does this apply any time a Player tries to have his character Transcend, or ONLY if the Character succeeds in Transcending. 

I ask because with the rules for the normal use of Powers doesn't require more rolls if the roll to use the Power fails.

I suppose another way to look at it is this: is there a downside to trying to get transcendence and failing?

I'm assuming there's no Control roll required for a failed Transcendence roll, as per the normal Discipline rules noted above.

CK
Logged

"Can't we for once just do what we're supposed to do -- and then stop?
Lemonhead, The Shield
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 17707


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2008, 07:37:27 AM »

These are Jared questions! I hope he comes by to help.

Best, Ron
Logged
Jared A. Sorensen
Member

Posts: 1474

Darksided


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2008, 07:49:00 AM »

The rule book doesn't mention them.

Does the "Death Scene" replace the Kicker?  Would Kickers clash with the Death Scene?

If there is, in fact, no Kicker, is there a recommended method for getting the game going?

Thanks!

CK


Hey, there.

I think Kickers came into vogue after Schism was published (in 2001, yikes). The various stories mentioned in the "How to run this section" can be used to create Kickers though, depending on the type of story.
Logged

jared a. sorensen / www.memento-mori.com
Jared A. Sorensen
Member

Posts: 1474

Darksided


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2008, 07:59:26 AM »

And another Schism question:

In the section on Transcendence, the rules state:

Transcendence always has these three effects:
•   The discipline achieves to its maximum effect and has some kind of Telltale
•   The discipline gains an additional point to its Power score
•   The character loses one Humanity point


Now, does this apply any time a Player tries to have his character Transcend, or ONLY if the Character succeeds in Transcending. 

I ask because with the rules for the normal use of Powers doesn't require more rolls if the roll to use the Power fails.

I suppose another way to look at it is this: is there a downside to trying to get transcendence and failing?

I'm assuming there's no Control roll required for a failed Transcendence roll, as per the normal Discipline rules noted above.

CK


Characters may roll their Origin vs. their Discipline’s current Power to transcend the use of a Discipline. Through Transcendence, the character will be able to extend the limits of their abilities, often to an incredible degree. The player simply declares a desire to transcend their power before using a discipline.

The Transcendent character then rolls Control. In this case, the character rolls their discipline’s Power (every
die of it!) vs. their Control dice.


You don't have to make a Control roll if it fails. The downsides are auto-manifestation of the Telltale and a loss of Humanity.
Logged

jared a. sorensen / www.memento-mori.com
Christopher Kubasik
Member

Posts: 1159


« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2008, 11:09:17 PM »

Thanks!
Logged

"Can't we for once just do what we're supposed to do -- and then stop?
Lemonhead, The Shield
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!