*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 30, 2014, 03:55:33 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
46709 Posts in 5588 Topics by 13297 Members Latest Member: - Shane786 Most online today: 29 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Sorcerer] Contacting/Total Failure - I must have missed a rule somewhere  (Read 2229 times)
pygstasis
Registree

Posts: 2


« on: May 15, 2008, 03:23:29 PM »

In Sorcerer, on page 86, the rules for Contacting with the help of hallucinogens state "the sorcerer must roll his will vs dice equal to the number of hits dropped.  Failure means that his will is impaired by one for several weeks;  total failure ( no victories) means that the loss is permanent."  What I don't understand is what is the difference between failure and total failure?  As I understand it, *any* victories rolled would mean the roll was a success.  Help in clearing up my confusion will be much appreciated!   
Logged
Marshall Burns
Member

Posts: 573

American Wizard


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 03:46:31 PM »

I think that if the drugs get a Total Victory, that means you got a Total Failure.

-Marshall
Logged

pygstasis
Registree

Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 03:51:18 PM »

Doh!  That seems so clear now.  Thanks for the quick reply!
Logged
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 17707


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 04:32:34 PM »

Yeah, that's a bit of inadvertent terminology - I was too quick to assign a Capitalized Importance to that outcome. I would have done better to write, "If the values of all of the player's dice are under all the values of the opposing dice," or something like that.

Best, Ron
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!