Open Game License independent?

Started by big dummy, November 11, 2008, 01:18:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

big dummy

Hi, I am an independent game designer, I wrote a combat system for the 3.5 OGL

I have been on this forum before, a long time ago though I lost my old computer after Hurricane Katrina and have no idea what my old user ID etc. still are.  I met Jake Norwood here and I ended up writing part of two books for his now defunct game The Riddle of Steel.

Like TROS my system is largely based on Historical European Martial Arts (as well as Filipino and Japanese Martial Arts), which was partly informed by some discussions I had here on this forum.  I'm selling it myself through onebookshelf.

I'm not going to post a link or even mention the name of my book or anything though because I know there are strict rules here about OGL / D20 games.

My goal in doing my game was to bring the fun of historical reality back to DnD since that is still apparently what most people are encountering when they first get into RPGs (correct me if I'm wrong on that)  I feel that with recent versions of that game, especially 4E, it has become so extremely specific to one (rather grotesque) style of playing that there is no way for people to go in different directions as people did when I played as a kid.

My question is, can I be here?  Can I discuss my system here?  I think it is unique in many ways regarding the game mechanics, I don't think anyone has done anything quite like this yet exactly though I'd be real interested to find out.  I'd like to see what other people here think of the mechanics.