Contracts for editors?

Started by Jeremy Keller, March 02, 2009, 10:32:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeremy Keller

Hi everyone.  I've lurked around here for quite some time, but this is my first time posting.  I've just finished writing a manuscript for a game system and I'm starting down the road to self-publishing it.  While I like having my hands in every bit of the process, there is at least 1 person who is not me who I need to get involved in the process.  An editor.

I figure there are many people here who have been down this road ahead of me, and hopefully it's been so well tread that this is easy to answer:

What kind of contract do I need for an editor?  Do I need to protect their and my rights regarding IP the same way I would for an artist or writer?  I want to be creator-friendly as possible, but is an editor considered a creator in this sense?  If I wanted to re-purpose my own writing sometime down the road, I wouldn't want to be stuck needing the editor's permission.  How is this usually handled in the self-publishing biz?

Thanks.
-Jeremy Keller
Coming soon: Chronica Feudalis

Luke

Hi Jeremy,

My editing contracts are very simple: "I will pay you X to edit this manuscript by Y."

There are three types of editing that I use: content editing, copy editing and proofreading.

Content editing is the heaviest work. That's where the editor helps you put all of your ideas in order and ensures that they all work together.

Copy editing is where the editor goes in and makes sure your writing makes sense. He suggests fixes for problems that he finds.

Proofreading is where the editor corrects your grammar and punctuation.

At BWHQ, each type of editing is a separate contract. We do at least three passes per book. Usually, many more.