Book Layout

Started by David C, May 04, 2009, 02:11:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

David C

So I'm putting my game into pdf format.  I'd like to get it right the first time, so that I have the option of using the same file for printing physical copies of the book.  I luck out, because I have access to a computer with InDesign and Acrobat.  However, I've never tried making a book with them before.  So, if people don't mind me firing off a few questions...

1) Can I layout a book in InDesign and then turn it into a pdf easily?
2) It seems to me that paying a printer to print off copies, or using print on demand, is cheaper if you do an 8.5" x 11" format. Also, then people can print off pages from the pdf easily, for reference.   Am I basically correct?
3)  InDesign defaults to 3 pica margins on all sides of the page, is this a good number?  For a full page picture, should they extend to the edge (bleed)? 
4)  Printer's marks: is this something I need to worry about, or will my letter sized InDesign file be enough for the printer?
5) What else do I need to know before I finish laying out this whole book?  It wouldn't be too fun to do the whole thing over :(

Thank you
...but enjoying the scenery.

Lance D. Allen

I'll take a swing at your questions while we wait for people with actual experience to show up.

As InDesign is, so I hear, better than Quark in every important way, the answer would have to be yes. I've been using an old version of Quark, and I've had little problem making a .pdf out of my layout projects.

2) It seems to me that paying a printer to print off copies, or using print on demand, is cheaper if you do an 8.5" x 11" format. Also, then people can print off pages from the pdf easily, for reference.   Am I basically correct?