*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 30, 2014, 05:44:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
46709 Posts in 5588 Topics by 13297 Members Latest Member: - Shane786 Most online today: 123 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Question About Liches From Sorcerer & Sword  (Read 1631 times)
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1429


« on: May 06, 2009, 11:47:26 AM »

I was looking at the How To Become An Undead section of Sorcerer & Sword.  So the way I understand it is that you effectively become a demon.  But when you run the math presented there, you don't end up with numbers in accordance with the normal demon creation rules.

The really big question is: Can the Sorcerer who becomes a Lich still do Sorcery?  The core book is pretty clear that demons can't.  Is Lichdom an exception?

If it's not an exception I'm not sure what Lichdom buys you other than not-dying.  Is the Lich supposed to get Abilities in accordance with it's Lore score?  Or perhaps via the Token used to keep it alive?

Jesse
Logged
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 17707


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 12:34:43 PM »

Hi Jesse,

I'll look over that text again, but as I remember, the answers (or assumptions on my part) were:

- no more sorcery
- however, control of the Token is vastly significant and in many ways may look like sorcerous rituals
- demon abilities corresponding to your Lore score

Best, Ron
Logged
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1429


« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2009, 01:49:41 PM »

Cool.

One other subtle point.  Demons don't become unbound when their masters die.  Does that carry over into Lichdom?  I may not be able to do new sorcery but any demons I had bound to me upon my "death" are still bound to me?

Jesse
Logged
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 17707


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2009, 03:40:20 PM »

Jump-spin heel kick!
Logged
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1429


« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2009, 04:13:28 PM »

Perfect.

This is pretty scary stuff.  I like it.

Jesse
Logged
Marshall Burns
Member

Posts: 573

American Wizard


WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2009, 09:16:40 AM »

Oh, cool, that's good. 'Cause I was about to start an argument about Xaltotun, who is totally a lich and totally has at least two demons that we get to see in action.
Logged

AXUM
Member

Posts: 69


« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2009, 07:07:42 AM »

Hiyas!

Watching the thread a while... a dumb question pops up to mind (maybe it has already been answered, sorry!)
If a Lich is effectively a demon, can the Lich be summoned, bound, etc.?


Thanks
D' Ax

Logged
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 17707


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2009, 09:00:05 AM »

Yes!

I have never played this effect, regarding a player-character lich, so it remains an interesting door offered by the rules that one day may be opened.

Best, Ron
Logged
jburneko
Member

Posts: 1429


« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2009, 09:42:17 AM »

For what it's worth, the reason I was originally asking these questions is because I had a Lich in the game I just played.  She was one of the PC's great-grand mother.  I treated her as an Imminent as per Sorcerer & Sword, so no Summoning or Banishing.

However, the PC handled it was that she went and gathered her friends and family together (some of whom are also Sorcerers).  Together they crafted a coffin, dug a grave, carved a headstone, and gathered a bouquet of flowers and the PC used all of this as a Contain.  It was packing about 13 dice.  This all culminated in a struggle on the edge of the grave and in the end the Lich was knocked into it and sealed up nice and tight.

Jesse
Logged
greyorm
Member

Posts: 2293

My name is Raven.


WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2009, 03:03:07 PM »

Oooo. Jesse, you have just given me a terrible, terrible idea...
Logged

Rev. Ravenscrye Grey Daegmorgan
Wild Hunt Studio
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!