[DitV] A few questions from a new GM.

Started by SAW, July 16, 2009, 01:28:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SAW

Hi there! My name is Scott and I'm completely new to the game, but I'm planning on GMing it, so, naturally, I've got a couple of questions even after reading through the book.

I've been reading a lot of the threads already posted here, but with so many its hard to find exactly what I'm looking for.

So, hopefully no one minds if a few of these questions have been asked before!

1) What's the Standard Operating Procedure when a Dog declares that someone is a Sorcerer? What the Dogs say regarding the Faith is pretty much fact, correct?

So, if they declare someone a Sorcerer, does that person gain all the benefits of being a Sorcerer regardless of them perhaps not having a cult, since part of the idea of the game is that the Dogs can't be "wrong" when it comes to the Faith?

--

2) Is it advisable to put a decent amount of pressure on Verbal Raises? Like, to enforce that the players can't just be like "Nu uh!" "Yeah huh!"?

Does that effectively put them in a position that sometimes they're forced to escalate or give, not because they're out of dice, but simply because they can't figure out how to "attack" the situation verbally? Or should you let the Dogs argue however they want and let the dice pool determine how much hot air they can blow?

--

3) How much is a good idea to reveal up front? I know the idea is that the Dogs should know something is wrong, but should you leave it largely at "Something is wrong. Here's the leaves, but you're going to have to search to find the roots."?

An example in the book with Brother Malachai and the girl is one where it didn't appear that everything was handed to the players up front. The affair and such had to be discovered through piecing things together.