[Dogs in the Vineyard] Chinese immigrants from Out West

Started by Paul T, April 02, 2010, 10:39:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul T

I just started up a Dogs game with four other players, and I think it's going to be a blast. We all met for dinner, hung out a bit, then made characters together, ran quickly through some accomplishment/initiation scenes, and played for a couple of hours.

(I'm hoping you four will say hello and share your thoughts on the game!)

It's my first time a) running a Dogs game for so many (four players), and b) running a Dogs game that's not a one-shot. I'm looking forward to taking advantage of both of these possibilities as much as possible, although I do worry a little bit that spotlight time might get brief for each individual player, since Dogs is a game that often requires a lot of handling time (and especially if people are learning the rules, as is the case, making some decisions in conflict slower).

Setup

I'd only met two of the players before the game, and only played a few sessions (In a Wicked Age...) with one of them. But I think we all hit it off pretty quickly. These guys are awesome to play with! I had them send me a brief character concept ("Why are you a Dog?") and two important relationships before we got together, and, man, all four sent me some great stuff. I have a bunch of great issues and materials I can hit on in the game. The Towns practically write themselves--check it out, one of the Dogs killed someone and then became a Dog so as to justify that the earlier murder was right in the King of Life's eyes. Very juicy!