Search for Haven

Started by android_iv, September 12, 2010, 09:50:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

android_iv

Hi. I'm new to the forge. Failed to deliver in a "dogma contest" earlier this summer (at a Swedish rpg forum), hoping to reclaim my honour with this competition.
I'll start off with what I've got so far. It's small pieces, barely strung together. I'll hopefully write some sort of a coherent "introduction" or "initial design thoughts" tomorrow morning to better communicate my ideas. For now, you'll have to do with fragments. Interpret in any way you can, find inspiration in what you may, question/criticise what you want. Please do!

Search for Haven.

Introduction
This is Oasis. The only city in this scorching desert. The only city you've seen, the only city you've ever heard. The only city.

Every human carries the divine spark. If you don't, you're nothing but a skin. A filthy, amoral, godless skin.
Welcome 'Skin', filthy figure of a human. Less than human, less than cattle. Less worth than the bullet it takes to kill you.
Living on the Edge, between city and desert, your kin is in constant danger.
The City, human city-dwellers, harass and hunt you. Traffic you, sell you, slave you. The Desert scorch you, bury your crops in sand, kill your herds, vaporise your water. The Skins turn on each other in desperation. Fight other tribes, fight within the tribe, fight within you.

Create the world, find your place in it.
Create characters. You're all members of the same family.
Create the rest of your family, 5-10 members per PC. Mind map > relations.
Create the tribe, 5-10 families.
Imagine your first Haven.
Create your keepsakes. 5 each.
Create your tribe supply. 10 pieces.

Start of session.
GM rolls a City Dice, a Desert Dice and a Skin Dice. The number shown is the value of your people that will be claimed by the oppressive City-dwellers, the unrelenting Desert climate and by your own (or other) Skin tribe(s). Yes life is harsh, suck it up.