Is Create-A-Space a Good Place to Publish?

Started by Drew Cass, October 03, 2010, 03:11:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drew Cass

So I'm a New Independent developer working on a new project with a few friends. I know a few friends who produced web comics who publish through Amazon's create-a-space in the past with moderate success. Has anybody hear used Create-A-Space to publish their rpg's? If so would you recommend it or have you found something better?
"Not through speeches and majority decisions will the great questions of the day be decided but by iron and blood"

Ron Edwards

I don't know if anyone has tried this. Is there some way to browse Amazon to find out?

Current semi-automatic venues for RPG publishing are not quite ideal.

1. Any number of people will be happy to publish your game "for" you, with plenty of yapping about intellectual property and retaining rights. Such an arrangement necessarily removes money and/or profit from the creator, with debatable benefits.

2. Lulu sees a lot of use and has been a good choice for a number of publishers here. It provides a practical way to see your book physically made and delivered for on-line orders. At present, it's not cost-effective for short print runs, and like most on-line stores, doesn't provide a useful shopping environment for customers. As I understand it, currently one must accept a Lulu ISBN, which I consider to be trespassing on ownership.

That can't be all! Perhaps this is a good time to update the Forge discussion community in this forum on the available venues. Anyone who knows, speak up.

Best, Ron

Drew Cass

Well I know this was the estimated cost and return we calculated out using the calculator these figures are estimates for our Game Project Aria as well as royaltie payouts. From what I understand Create-A-Space is similar to lulu in that it cost nothing post your book online and if you want to sell copies you have to pay just for the price of prinint.