Help With Hero's Banner

Started by Lorthyne, October 26, 2010, 02:25:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lorthyne

Hello all!

I'm new to The Forge, although I've been playing and loving RPG's and indie RPGs for several years now.

I've recently acquired a copy of Tim Kopang's excellent Hero's Banner (http://tckroleplaying.com/herosbanner/), and have run one game and played in another that has taken us two full sessions to get about halfway through. We're all loving the game (including two players who are having their first-ever experience roleplaying with this game), but we've had a few kinks in the game that we're trying to work out. I'm wondering if anyone with more experience with Hero's Banner than myself could lend some advice.

I truly LOVE how Hero's Banner is set up to great these incredible, conflicted characters and play them to their fullest in a single session. I'm used to creating characters, having several sessions within a campaign to figure out who they rally are and what they're trying to accomplish, and then allowing those special, magical moments of role-play to be brought out. Hero's Banner is one of the few games I've played that has granted me a sense of completeness and attachment to my characters from the opening scene.