Crowd-Sourced RPG Development - Has it been done successfully?

Started by John Michael Crovis, July 01, 2011, 01:01:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Michael Crovis

I'm rather new to open-content gaming, and I've been seriously considering the impact Wikis could have on game design. I've tried to find games that were designed in this manner, but I only found one that was partially done, and only included a limited number of people. My thought is that a game designed through using various social media programs that engage potential players and encourage them to help design the game would have a better chance of attracting a large fan-base. Such an game, if open-content, would help to unite the gaming industry, much like the d20 SRD did in the early 2000's.

Do games like this already exist? Am I wrong in my thinking that this would be a good idea?

Mike Sugarbaker

You've already had a look at the body of evidence: a lot of half-finished games.

Most people with a design-y frame of mind want to do their own thing. That, or they want to make contributions and add-ons to something that already has legs.

If you start a project with a clear design lead who is someone with some stature in some online community or another, I could see it maybe having a chance. But it would take a lot of active leadership. If you just build it, they will not come.
Publisher/Co-Editor, OgreCave
Caretaker, Planet Story Games
Content Admin, Story Games Codex

Nathan P.

Matt Snyder tried to do an open-group-development project last year. It didn't really go anywhere. You can take a look through his posts about it, maybe it'll be instructive - they start here.