[Game Chef 2011] The Marriage of the Oak King's Daughter

Started by The Magus, July 16, 2011, 07:53:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Magus

This is my first time in Game Chef and only my second design so be gentle.  My entry for Game Chef is going to be based on a Midsummer's Night Dream.  One of the nobles of Theseus' court has been crowned Oak King at the yearly celebrations at the sacred oak grove in Dodona. 

As is his right he can insist that his daughter marries a suitor of his choice this very evening.  She wishes to marry based upon her own choice and not her father's.  Apollo and Dionysus watch on and wager as to who will fall in love with whom.  They send all manner of spirits to interfere with the proceedings based on their own views of love.

Mechanically I was initially attracted to the the ideas of humours being used but I like the ideas of values based on the 4 kinds of love described in ancient Greece.  Obviously the themes are a bit of a mash-up between ancient Greek, pagan and Christian ideas, much as I experience some of Shakespeare.

I'm going to divide the action into 5 specific acts with every player getting a scene (a bit like Shab al-Hiri Roach).  Each character has values that tie in with the ideals of Apollo or Dionysus.  I see borrowing a few ideas from Smallville and the love of my life, Apocalypse World.

I've been looking at dice rolling mechanisms and like the ideas of introducing elements such as NPCs and fairy magic via cards played by non-active players.

Hmm - I've got a lot of work to do.  My blog can be found here - it's pretty minimal but will hopefully fill up. 

Good Luck and Have Fun to all of the entrants.

Nathan P.

Hey Piers,

I have a serious love/hate relationship with Midsummer, so I'm pretty excited to see that as your inspiration! Your writeup here also reminds me of The Dance and the Dawn, another good thing in my book. So, just a note to say this sounds exciting, and good luck!
Nathan P.
--
Find Annalise