Project Vex - RPG System - Combat Rules

Started by Velexia, January 31, 2012, 06:27:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Velexia

Project Vex is a working title for a role playing game system I have been developing since 2005.  It has undergone many changes since its inception, and has seen not only play testing, but full 4 full campaigns.

This is the current iteration, and will the first to go public.  Presented here are rules for combat and a spreadsheet used to take real weapons and convert them into game terms.

These rules are not complete, and many aspects are unfinished (I do not advise looking at any sheets beyond "melee" on the weapons spreadsheet at this time, they are scary).

The system is meant to be useable for any setting, any genre, and any time period.  The goal is to design it in such a way that it can smoothly handle cavemen hitting each other with sticks, Jedi deflecting blaster fire with lightsabers, adventurers fighting dragons, spies infiltrating top secret military bases, formula one race cars, bomber planes dropping nuclear weapons, Starships traveling through warped space-time, and entire armies at war.

The current documentation is only meant to handle single characters hitting each other with various melee weapons, however.  The rules will be designed fractally (folding and unfolding easily into different levels of detail).  The rules presented here are the most complex.

I prefer to use as few rules as possible to create as many effects as possible. 

The basic structure should be familiar:

Conflict Resolution:  All conflicts follow the intent, opposition, resolution, and effect format. A player declares their intent, any opposition is presented, success or failure is determined, which may be automatic, or by a roll of dice. The effect of the success or failure is then applied.

The dice mechanics are opposed rolls, and rolls against target numbers.