Tricksters

Started by desiderata, April 08, 2012, 12:36:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

desiderata

Hey.  I'm pretty new at this, I have a couple ideas in mind.  They should eventually be connected to each other.

Philosophy
I want a game about boundaries, hiding behind them, breaking them, contemplating them, being hurt by them.

Story
With the help of a shaman/psychotherapist/witch-doctor, the characters explore the world around them, their own memories, and they came from.  There will be a trickster involved, as a result, not everything is true.  Now will everything be false.

World-crafting
There will be the world we know.  There will also be the spirit world; where crows gossip, trees flirt, and flowers spout obscenities.  As the game progresses, the world blossoms, or maybe decays as the characters grow and learn more about themselves.

Mechanic-things
I will be interested in making a story-telling game with a gm role only slightly more dominant than the players.  The characters will establish axioms (rules) and truths (facts) about the world, or some form of syntactical force that defines their character's world. 

Will fill with more things soon.

jackson_tegu

sure of ourselves, aren't we?

mcdaldno

Desiderata,

Do you need a GM at all?

Maybe there are just specific roles for each player: The Doctor (who also plays the material world), The Trickster (who also plays the spirit world), The Explorer (who is the main character), The Others (a player in charge of both memories and specific NPCs). Would a distributed set of roles work, or is there a specific thing you want a central GM figure to be doing?
I am a game chef.

Buried Without Ceremony

osaka

I support mcdaldno. If you want to give the player some of the GM's power (like estabilishing the truths and axioms) maybe you should consider make them all semi-GM's.