News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

End of Theory from behind the scenes

Started by Montola, December 05, 2005, 06:35:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Montola

I posted the following to www.lumpley.com comments, but abiding Ron's moderatorial request I hereby repost it to where he feels it belongs.

One thing I want to ask Ron and the others: Who were exactly the people making the decision of closing the forums? What kind of process was used? Who were consulted beforehand?

As background, I had personally not many bets on this card, and the phase where Forge discussion is perhaps organized and summarized into some thematic threads, is of course valuable for outsiders like me. However, I have some academic interest on the issue as a case study of power excercise in online communities. (I studied these things a lot while writing my master's thesis). As an outsider, I don't feel personally wronged, but I wouldn't be surprised if some people did. Like Chris maybe does.

- M

Neal

Speaking off-the-cuff as an academic, discussions of theory are always power negotiations.  Witness the clout of Duke University (and go ahead and read Homi Bhabha, while you're at it, as evidence of what that clout produces).  Discussions of theory always have at their heart the answer to the question: "How shall we understand X?"    Thus, in a top-down environment (as in any moderated forum), they are problematic.  They always -- always -- resort to the argument from the club.  Do you want to be heard?  Then speak our language, accept our axioms, and get in line.

Now, I don't have a big issue with Ron's definition of theory, which I seem to recall as "What makes the most sense."  In fact, I rather think that's a tidy way of looking at any theory which is descriptive rather than prescriptive.  In short, theory which tells us "what is" rather than "what should be."