News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Young Children: Actual role-play, Actual Play?

Started by Richard Campbell, February 25, 2006, 12:44:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Richard Campbell

I have been reading posts to The Forge for some time and have developed an interest in the theory behind the play of role-playing games. I have always had an interest in creating stories using the gaming tools I had available and owe a debt to my friend who always was the catalyst for interesting gaming experiences when I started gaming. I have been a Primary school teacher in the UK for many years and have maintained an interest in introducing games in an appropriate way to children when I can.

The main point of this 'Actual Play' post, however, is that it may be of interest to some people to know that role-playing is an intrinsic part of the curriculum for, I would guess, most children in the UK. You might remember the 'Home Corner' from your own elementary education – I have no idea if this is a common feature of schools in the USA – where a 'pretend house' was always available for young children's imaginative play. You might think this is as far removed from role-playing as the games of 'let's pretend' which are frequently mentioned in the introductions to role-playing games. I think over the time I have been a teacher that this has changed and now the youngest children in Primary schools are presented with some real opportunities for role-playing. I always find it strange that the term which has such negative connotations in the adult world is in common parlance in schools. Five-year-old children use the term 'role-playing' to describe their imaginative play, and teachers plan situations for them to develop this play which are as close to LARP scenarios as a pre-school child will get.