News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[TSoY] Newbie here

Started by Ricky Donato, April 22, 2006, 04:56:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ricky Donato

Hi, all,

Long-time lurker at the Forge, first post.

I recently discovered The Shadow of Yesterday. It looks really exciting, because it seems to provide a lot of what I've been looking for in a game system. I'd like to introduce it to my play group and see how it flies. However, I have several questions. I suspect that these questions have already been answered elsewhere, so if you can just provide me the necessary links, I'll be glad to read up.

• My play group plays D&D 3e. The only RPG I've ever played is D&D in its various editions, as a player and DM. A couple of my play group has played ShadowRun and Pendragon, and they've all played and DMed D&D. What expectations should we have when it comes to TSoY? How should it play in comparison to what we're familiar with?
  • During actual gameplay, what tips would you recommend to make our play easier?
  • After playing a couple of TSoY sessions to get a feel for it, suppose we decide that the game is interesting. Is it easy to convert our existing D&D 3e characters to TSoY? Or would you recommend that we create an entirely new set of characters for it? On the same line, would it be a bad thing to use our existing campaign world (a homemade setting that uses the core D&D 3e ruleset with no house rules or supplements) instead of Near?