News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Will Edit for Credit

Started by David "Czar Fnord" Artman, May 05, 2006, 01:49:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David "Czar Fnord" Artman

I am hereby offering my services as a production editor (post-typeset) for any RPG that will, in turn, provide me with "Production Editor" credit in the game book front matter.

These services can include any or all of the following, in order from fastest to slowest turn-around times:
  • Proofreading (spelling, punctuation, grammar)
  • Copyediting (terminology consistency, logical validity, fact checking as appropriate)
  • Feedback on production techniques (art, fontography, use of tools, color-stripping, file sizes, printer-friendliness)
  • Feedback on diction and style (requires author to provide some sort of style guide or ascribe to a national standard)

I have ten years of professional experience with book design, authoring, templating, editing, and production management for companies that include Cisco Systems, IBM, GlaxoSmithKline, Interactive Magic Games, BuildNet, BlueCross BlueShield, and many small businesses and publications local to the Triangle, NC. I currently have seven major credits in (computer) game manuals for Interactive Magic games, innumerable technical publication credits, a published philosophy paper (Tufts University Press), and three independently developed game system designs of my own (Three Stooges, Shadowrun pre-2nd Ed mods, and GLASS). I hold Bachelors of Arts in English (Style and Semantics focus) and Philosophy (Metaphysics, Ethics, and Logic focus), graduating cum laude in both BAs from UNC Greensboro in 1993.

I prefer to work with press-ready PDF files, but I will consider editing final copy in Word, FrameMaker, or HTML using Track Changes, Change Bars, or font color and strikeout tagging (respectively).

PM me if you would like to learn more. Thank you for the opportunity to be of assistance;