News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[TSOY] Swashbucklers

Started by Matthew Glover, June 15, 2006, 06:01:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matthew Glover

So last night was our very first TSOY Swashbucklers game.  It was a blast, even though I didn't get to reveal nearly as much of my preparation as I'd hoped.  This is my first AP post and it ended up going waaaay longer than I expected, so please bear with me.

I'm Matthew.  I'm still somewhat new to indie games, but I've run a 5-episode season of PTA and three or four sessions of Inspectres and played Capes a bunch, though not as much as I'd like.  I've also run half a session of DitV and I've read a handful of other Forge games.   My other players are:

Bobby, with a rakish scoundrel (Bragon Robel) who's been posing as a particular noble and was tossed into jail when that noble returned from vacation and found out about it.  He has Key of the Impostor and Key of the Churl (1 XP when you perform a public faux pas; 2 XP when people above you in status ridicule you publicly for a faux pas; 5 XP when you perform a faux pas so bad that it causes you and your companions great harm.)

Deirdra, with the daughter (Matilda "Black Mattie" Arcpenny) of a shipping magnate.  Mattie would really rather be a pirate than a noble or a businesswoman.  She rebels against her family and responsiblities by fraternizing with blackguards and lowlifes.  She has Key of Renown and Key of the Black Sheep (an inversion of Key of the House, 1XP when you being shame upon your family/house/clan. 2XP when you bring shame upon your family in order to benefit yourself. 5XP when your actions cause great finanical, social, or physical harm to your family.)