News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Paranoia] GNS and short attention spans

Started by museleading, July 27, 2006, 08:48:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

museleading

I came across this the other day. http://www.escapistmagazine.com/issue/36/17 - My Eyes Glaze Over: Roleplaying theory for short attention spans by Allen Varney

This bit struck me
--------------------
The Fruits of Their Effort
Though I'm a professional game designer, GNS theory hasn't directly helped me improve my craft. Partly, this is because for two years I've been concerned exclusively with a new edition of the classic RPG PARANOIA, an offbeat game that fits awkwardly in the GNS framework. (Forge articles seldom mention PARANOIA.)
---------------------

Does this hold true?  Does it fit 'awkardly'?  Does it fit at all?

Ron Edwards

Unfortunately, much as I'd like to clarify some widespread (and strange) notions about the Big Model and Paranoia, this post can't continue as a thread, as currently constructed.

The best solution is probably for you to present any of your experiences with Paranoia - who it was with, how it went, how much fun it was, why, and all that sort of thing. If you do this, then this thread can get moved to the Actual Play forum, we can all learn from one another, and fun will be had.

So if you'd like, post a reply with such a description. I'd love to see it.

Best, Ron

P.S. Damn it ... I can't help it. The reason Paranoia and some other great games aren't represented in the theory essays is because they're second-order games - humorous, satirical, meta-role-playing in a lot of ways. You're not only playing, you're playing about playing. The theory still holds for them in full, but you have to talk about the kind(s) of play that playing them is commenting on. So talking about them in the essays wasn't a high priority.