News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

The Product I thought of while thinking about Indie RPG products

Started by TwoCrows, May 22, 2007, 08:22:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TwoCrows

Greetings,

After days of lurking, reading, and ruminating (...and certainly there's enough material here that an admission of only having barely skimmed the surface should be a forgivable sin...) I've chosen to delurk with my First Thoughts, which I will concisely share momentarily.

I'll leave the gaming history, and experience to a minimum. Leave it to say that like many of you, I started playing before polyhedral dice were available to gamers, and I've played regularly ever since.

Although I've played a wide variety of games, some now extinct, rubbed elbows with all sorts of gamers, and been a flame-retarded participant on UseNet for a number of years, I have to admit that I totally missed not only the rec.games trunk, but the "Gaming Theory Movement" as a whole. (For those that care, I spent all my time in the alt.religion corner.)

While I'm fascinated, and inspired by Gaming Theory as presented here at The Forge, I have to admit that I'm a noob to the jargon, but NOT the notions, and conotions they seem to speak to. So, without further ado (...or maybe that's adieu depending upon how many forum rules I've just broken...) my concise RPG product first thoughts are:

I'm lucky perhaps to be involved with a big, I mean really big box Marketing Research Firm. While I won't name it, if you've ever watched TV for more than 30 minutes in your life, chances are you've heard of one of its many branches. How does this relate to RPGs, Game Theory, or Indie RPG? Well, there's only a couple of RPG related Marketing Surveys available on the web to get a grasp of the industry, and all of them have little direct data relating to the Indie RPG Movement, or its products.