News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Beating a Dead Horse?

Started by masqueradeball, December 22, 2007, 03:08:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

masqueradeball

Okay, so all in all I'm still new to this GNS thing... though I've been reading as much as I can and trying to understand the language, but I want to bring up something...

One day, my older brother Logan proposed we start a game of Hunter: The Reckoning. I made a character, a thirty something soccer mom who immigrated from Mexico and married a rich white guy and started a second family after abandoning a wayward son from her youth. Her life was her daughter, for various reasons.
We player a session which went through the process of how I became imbued (the in game term for getting you magical "I hunt bad things" powers). The gist of it was that my character's daughter was being threatened by some unidentified undead creatures that I didn't know how to fight. The game ended without a resolution.
It was one of the highlights of my life as a roleplaying gamer because I felt really, genuinely scared at the thought of losing the thing that my life was about by experiencing/thinking about that same thing happening to my character.

So my question is this: If one is trying to design a game in which these experiences happen, where does that design fall on the GNS model? If one is trying to play a game to get more of these experiences, where does that fall on the GNS model?
Nolan Callender

masqueradeball