News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Your thoughts please

Started by garapata, September 18, 2003, 11:15:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

garapata

Okay, I have been gaming with a number of players for many years now.  So far, the oldest player I have has been gaming under me for 9 years.  

In almost every game session I had, since this particular player was always in my games as the spotlight character.  Or the guy who carries the story for the rest of the players.  Typically, a game session you see would have him among newbies, so this was pretty much the norm.

Now, I recently had started a few sessions with a him, some other players who also have been playing under him and a new player who unlike most players isn't quite new to rpgs, but is pretty new to the group.

Here's the thing.

The 9-year guy complains to me.  After ten or so sessions, he tells me that the games have become less and less satisfactory.  The reason, he tells me is that he and the others have noticed that I have a particular bias towards the new guy.

Funny thing is, as a Storyteller, I always make sure that every player who has his turn feels like the story is favored or biased to him.  After all, like in a movie, when the camera points at a character, it is THAT character's turn to shine.

Well, I mentioned this and they admitted that yes, they notice that. The thing is, they claim the annoying thing for them is that the new guy gets easier turns than them.  

I explained, being new, the new guy needs easier turns. Until he really get's the hang of the game and the group, its hard to expect of him the level of focus and creativity the group normally dishes out.

But still, they complained.  They believe that 7 game attempts (all of which were rudely discontinued because they felt the new guy has it easy each time) are enough time for the new guy to adjust.