News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Should I bother registering my RPG for copyright?

Started by Palaskar, October 05, 2003, 02:20:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Palaskar

Both my parents strongly suggest I register my RPG in the US under form TX for $30.  Since they're ponying up the money, I don't mind.

Now I know that under US copyright law, all works since about 1988 or so are copyrighted as soon as they are created. And since it's fairly likely I'll be updating my RPG, I don't know if I would have to re-register it with every revision. So registering for a patent doesn't seem like a good idea to me.

Does anyone out there have any experience or opinions to share?

Brian Leybourne

I'm not an expert on US law (OK, I know almost nothing about US law), but I'm quite confident you don't need a patent for written material, copyright protects you.

In fact, I suspect you wont be able to lodge a patent, but you can always try.

Brian.
Brian Leybourne
bleybourne@gmail.com

RPG Books: Of Beasts and Men, The Flower of Battle, The TROS Companion

Chris Passeno

I would like to preface this with.... we are not lawyers, so consult a copyright or patent attorney for correct answers.

I don't believe that you can patent an RPG.  A copyright is for written or graphic works.  A Patent is for a physical objects or original process, like drink umbrellas, but the jury's still out on that.  I remember hearing WOTC trying to Patent the "tapping" mechanic.  Who knows, they have the lawyers and money to try it.

An interesting thing I heard on TechTV the other night compared a copyright, trademark, or patent as a Hunting License.  It doesn't automatically protect you... it just gives you the right to go after them.  It's still a very long and expensive court process to protect your copyright.

Ron Edwards

Hello,