News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Document: Elsewhere Narrative System

Started by Kuma, October 14, 2002, 02:44:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kuma

All -

I've realized that these fora here are good for one thing: they push me a bit harder to get things done so I can show them off (and get them shot full of holes).  

Here is the URL to the narrative derivative of the Elsewhere system that I've been slaving over for a few years.  It's just a brief overview, but here it is:

http://kuma.2serv.com/elsewhere/elsewhere-n.pdf

The game is essentially this in a nutshell: players all draw cards (or roll dice, etc) to get a hand of 10 concepts - Verities (basic ideas such as justice, beauty, faith, love, death), Forms (symbols, ideas, locales, people) and Spheres (academic, military, political).  On their turn, the players lay out a 'hand' of cards, narrating an achievement of their civilization, or an important event in their history.

Everything else in the game branches off that single concept.  Players may use their play to start conflicts with other players, cause trouble inside other player's lands or even give them gifts if they are so inclined.

I'm working on expanding the metrics of the system to include things like a culture's Good v. Evil factor ... but the document simply presents the basic rules of play and some guidelines for creating achievements.

Fire away!

Mike Holmes

Hmmm.

Lot's of subjectivity, here. I can't see this being played competitively. One player would claim that something had merit in a certain case and could be played and then another would declare that it didn't. Is there supposed to be a GM to referee?