News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Sorcerer & Sword - Collaboration in Action

Started by Mithras, January 11, 2003, 05:18:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mithras

Well, I just received and read SORCERER AND SWORD, and I've got to say it arrived with perfect timing! I'm a teacher in a primary school and run a roleplaying club for 10-11 year olds. And this term I wanted to try something new and ambitious. No-more elaborate campaigns and clever scenarios, no more pre-generated characters! On my mind was octaNe's resolution mechanic, and EVERWAY's character generation system. I'd ordered S&S on a whim because I thought I might want to try pulp fantasy with the kids. When I read S&S I couldn't believe my luck. It was absolutely chock full of advice on giving your  players lots of collaborative opportunities. This was great, because I'd decided to try and maximise my player's creative input more than in any game I'd run in 20 years of gaming. Let me explain why the advice in S&S was so timely:

With this group I'm going to let them build the lot (and keep my fingers crossed at the same time!). In this order, they (or we) are going to:

1) Create the Fantasy Setting
2) Create the Villain and his cohorts
3) Create the bones of plot that will be rooted in the Setting
4) Create characters for THAT plot
5) Run the game semi-conventionally with me as GM, but using Jared Sorensen's dice mechanic from octaNe where by results are not success/fail; but player describes/GM describes.