News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Our first Tenet Phase and a request

Started by Don D., August 06, 2004, 08:02:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Don D.

I am new to Universalis but am excited about playing.  I usually go for roleplaying games but find as I get older that I have less inclination to spend hours designing adventures and making up NPCs so Universalis sounds great... A game that requires NO PREPERATION!  Since I have only one other player at the moment (my wife) standard roleplaying games don't seem to work too well (most games being geared for multiple players).  Another point scored for Universalis. (By the way, have you noticed how many wives are playing this game with their husbands?  Pretty cool.)

Anyways...
My wife and I sat down the other night for  a trial game (really just a Tenet phase to see how it works since it was getting pretty late and we knew we wouldnt have enough time to begin playing the story out.)  We had a great time.  We are actually going to take these Tenets we came up with and reread them next time and go ahead and play the story.

This is what we came up with.  I would love those of you who are veteran players to let me know which of these sound like good tenets and which should have been left out.  Do you think we did too much?

1.Fairy Tale: In the vein of Never Ending Story
2.Involves magical book
3.Hero's are a solar powered race
4.Villain seeking to bring eternal darkness
5.Characters can talk to animals and creatures
6.The solar powered race are a plant/human hybrid (leaves, chlorophyl etc.)
7.Villain similar to Balrog (from the Darkness)
8.Villain's evil army is made up of Arachnid like creatures of all sorts
9.Only way to kill the arachnid creatures is for them to be exposed to sunlight
10.The plant race (called Florens) have magicians who use Sun magic/ Light magic
7. The magic book describes how to kill the Balrog Creature