News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Social Contract and Automation

Started by jburneko, September 26, 2004, 06:47:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jburneko

Hello Everyone,

It's been a while since I posted.  Most of that is due to the fact that I'm getting married at the end of October and because I have a new, more demanding (and rewarding) job.

I work as a video game programmer and often in the past I've mentioned that I have this dream of creating a narrativist video game.  It was while thinking about this that I had a bit of realization that sort of spans everything from the current state-of-the-art in artificial intelligence, to table-top social contract issues, to gamer culture in general.  So, if any of this wanders into material that is inappropriate for The Forge just say so and I'll understand.

Here's the deal: Ron once said that it seemed like I create whole new cognitive zones just to become confused when reading/analyzing an RPG.  And it's true, I do.  Those zone are created from my training/experience as a video game programmer.  Basically, while reading a new rule set I devide everything into two categories stuff that I think a computer could handle and stuff that requires a human being to arbitrate.

Then I go over all the stuff that I've placed (mentally) in the "requires human arbitration" category and ask myself a series of questions?  Why does this require human aribitration? (This a very interesting question to me as I think it is where the future, if any, of artificial intelligence lies)  Is it "bad" or rather problematic that it requires human arbitration?  Would the game be better served by the insertion of a rule that effecitively moved the issue from "requires human arbitration" to "could be handled by a computer."