News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Universalis] Introductory game

Started by Thelenius, October 07, 2004, 08:36:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thelenius

I recently hosted a introductory game of Universalis in order to get people in our University role playing club to know the game and find players who would be interested to play Uni on a more or less regular basis. I bought Uni at RopeCon in July 2004 (Finland's biggest rpg con) from the Finnish importers of Universalis and other indie games, Arkkikivi. My only game of Uni before this one was a demo game at the con, requested by me so I could test it before buying :). One of the players at this introductory game hosted by me also played in that demo (but had to leave before the first scene), and one had several games' worth of experience. The other three were complete beginners, but experienced role players.

Game: "Oiva's Journey"

Starting coins: 25
Refreshment: 5

TENETS

Story Elements:

- Somewhat in the style of Brothers Grimm fairy tales
- All animals can talk with humans (and it's completely normal in the world)
- Story of a journey
- The attitudes and views of the characters are not necessarily tied with Grimm fairy tales or the historical period
- The main character is a young man

Rules Gimmicks:

- Practice game: relaxed rules; you can take back what you said if you misunderstood the rules
- Every player picks a role which guides their contributions in the story. Like you are the God of Something and you try to promote Something in the game world. The roles are public and are picked at the beginning of the game. You can change your role, but it costs 20 coins to do so.
The roles:
Nestori: Suffering
Laura: Pleasure
Christine: Chance
Antti: Complication
Teemu: Love
Taru (who had to leave during the early Scene 1): Nourishment

In addition, we created these central Components during the prep stage: