News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Last One Standing...] New Game Idea

Started by arete66, December 03, 2004, 06:05:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

arete66

"Last One Standing..."

OK.  I'm a rookie, so go easy on me. :)

I've had this idea about a Horror game rattling around in my head and felt compelled to share it.  If it doesn't come to anything from my efforts, maybe it will generate some useful ideas for somebody else's efforts.  Or maybe some collaboration can occur.  (Read "No NDA, I don't care if anyone steals the concept, etc.")

So, the basic premise is, like many cheap horror flicks, one character survives.  Every other character dies.  The built-in end condition is that when the last character is left, the game is over.

I want to use a "Survivor" like model in which all players, including those who's characters have already perished, vote at certain critical crisis points on the play of all other players.  They rate their fellow players on three factors:  How heroic their character has behaved (the most important),  how entertaining their play has been, and how good their ideas and problem solving have been (about equally as important, but less so than how heroic their character has been).  The GM tallies the scores, assigns the qualities to the appropriate players, and then everyone makes a die roll with modifiers for being awarded the above qualities.  The lowest roll snuffs it. "And so, as the zombies crash through the front door of the convenience mart, little Billy O'Connell is ripped limb from limb and devoured alive."

It wouldn't be the only way to bite it, of course.  Just a set way to make sure the field is whittled down over time.