News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Scene Framing and octaNe

Started by hardcoremoose, February 05, 2002, 01:36:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hardcoremoose

There have been a couple requests for practical scene framing guidelines.  I know some of this stuff has been hashed over before, but it seems like a good time to get the discussion going again.  I'm far from an expert on this subject, so I'll post my thoughts, and hopefully others will jump in to add their insights and/or criticisms.  

One thing I've discovered is that for the uninitiated, scene framing is hard.  There is a strange sort of apprehension that comes with it, and that's difficult to overcome.  I've seen it done successfully, but I'm still a mediocre scene framer at best.  For a primer on scene framing, check out http://www.indie-rpgs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=69&highlight=theatrix">this post (especially Paul's second post on the subject).

First, my theory of scene framing.  Scene framing is about getting from a defined Point A to an undefined Point B.  It posits a lot of stuff up front (Point A), providing the players with the raw materials to create an interesting, dramatic scene.  A well framed scene will force the players to make decisions, but will not provide just one obvious choice, nor imply any specific decision.  Through their decisions, the players will cause the scene to unfold.  When the most dramatic thing that could happen in the scene has happened, Point B has been reached, and the GM should end the scene and move on to the next one.  This theory is in direct contrast to the way games normally work, in which Point B is set-up well in advance of actual play, and sometimes before characters are ever generated (Point A, on the other hand, is often left kind of vague and up to the players, but in the most heavy-handed games, is predefined by the GM as well).