News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

The role of dice

Started by Phil Levis, February 03, 2005, 09:03:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phil Levis

I'm new to the Forge. I've perused some of the articles and recent threads with a good deal of interest. On one hand, the precise vocabulary and terminology used suggests a refinement of thought on topics which are of some interest to me; on the other, the use of such a system defines a paradigm (in Kuhn's sense), which as a relative outsider I am unsure if I agree with. Of course -- I write this merely in case it is not clear -- I don't consider my personal agreement or disagreement a measure of the discourse.

The question of paradigm and terminology is interesting to me because I've engaged in discussions with my own circle of fellow gamers, and those threads of thought have led to very different conclusions than those here. At a high level, the Forge is much more inclusive in its definition of role playing than I am: I typically define role playing as a Simulationist endeavor. My opinions on the matter are mostly influenced by my appreciation for theater and Stanislavsky's realism. But that's just the definition of a term, and not particularly meaningful for discussion: certainly the text below uses terms of dubious opinion here, such as realism. However, I thought it might be useful to explain where I come from.

I'd like to share a brief treatise a friend of mine wrote in 1997 as an appendix to a proposed consent system for a WoD MUSH. It deals with the role of dice in RPGs. I want to know what members of the Forge think of its premises and conclusions. I realize this may result in a paradigmatic clash, and admit that I would consider such a result almost as interesting as the substantive commentary I hope for. Without further ado...

Chance as an element in roleplaying