News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Does anyone ever have reliable stats about the "industr

Started by coxcomb, February 13, 2005, 08:30:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

coxcomb

So I regularly read the news at Hero Games, and recently they announced that they are tightening belts for the future.

Among the usual reasons they cite the general downturn in the industry. They noted some smallish "mainstream" companies (GOO for example) that are scaling back or fading away.

Thing is, I've been playing RPGs for a couple of decades now, and I have always heard tell of the "downturn in the industry". I can't remember a time when an RPG company that wasn't doing as well as they hoped didn't blame it on a rough patch in RPG sales.

What I have never seen are any real numbers about the RPG business. I read the WotC market research from a few years back, but it seemed incomplete and inconclusive to me.

So has anyone ever seen any real data about the people in our hobby? Are roleplayers really a dwindling breed, or is that just the ready excuse for when the supplement treadmill  model doesn't work out?

Insights?
Jay Loomis
Coxcomb Games
Check out my http://bigd12.blogspot.com">blog.

b_bankhead

For the most part good data about the rpg 'industry' doesn't exist.   The 'industry' does no market research to speak of.   The oft quoted WOTC survey remains the high water mark of efforts in this field. It if seems incomplete and inconclusive, it's because it was, and the problems with the type of mail in survey they did are discussed in detail in the first chapter of the classic 'How to Lie with Statistics".  Most of the 'debate' about the nature of the rpg marketplace occurs in a near complete intellectual vacuum, and consists largely of people drawing sweeping conclusions based on the doings at their own FLGS.