News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

GNS: What is it?

Started by RpgAlexWyld, April 04, 2003, 12:13:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RpgAlexWyld

Sorry, I'm new to the Forge. Can anyone discribe what Gamist, Narativist and Simulationist is? I have no clue...

Thanks
----
Let the Galaxy Burn...

bladamson

Quote from: RpgAlexWyldSorry, I'm new to the Forge. Can anyone discribe what Gamist, Narativist and Simulationist is? I have no clue...

Gwahaha.  I'm still muddling through it...  Though my head isn't spinning as much as it was...

http://www.indie-rpgs.com/articles/1/
B. Lee Adamson, P.P., K.S.C.

Matt Machell

My best advice is to read Ron's articles in the Forge articles section.

Also, read them with an open mind, and don't assume that the terms you read bear any resemblence to other uses of the terms outside the Forge. That causes many people problems.

One thing to keep in mind, it's not about classifying games or the people who play them (this misconception causes any number of flame wars on other sites). It's about decisions in play, and the problems conflicting reasons for making decisons can cause. By extension it can help you craft a game which supports particular kinds of decisions.

HTH

-Matt

Ron Edwards

Hi there,

And welcome! I'm posting to see if I can be more constructive than, "Go and read a ton of bogosity," although historically, that usually works well.

Basically, we all know two things:

1. Role-playing is a social fun activity, carried out by people who are interacting with one another. Its primary feature is a shared imaginative construct. Duh, right?

2. Equally "duh," we use rules or at least standards of How-To in order to arrive at what's happening in our fictional situations.

All GNS is is a bridge between #1 and #2: the creative agenda that's established, shared, or (all too often) a source of contention among the people who are role-playing.