News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

seeking methods for "Plot Framing"

Started by kalyptein, December 15, 2003, 12:57:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kalyptein

After the holidays, my group will be starting a new game, a space opera adventure using a slight mod of Feng Shui.  As I was jotting down adventure seeds, I found it most easy to think of them as the opening scenes for a tv show.  Rather than begin with "so you're flying through space and you pick up a distress signal from an unknown shop, do you want to investigate?" we start with "while flying through space you picked up a distress signal from an unknown ship.  You've docked at the derelict and we open with your characters on the bridge, working to reactivate the artificial gravity..."  In other words, a ferocious level of scene, or rather plot, framing.

I've never tried this before, and I don't want to end up as sole arbiter of plots.  Each of the characters has interesting built-in plots and interests which I will of course explore, but I want to give the players a more direct handle.  I was thinking of giving out a Plot Point to each player every so often which they could spend to shape an upcoming plot.  Something like "I'd like us to cross paths with that guy who betrayed us two episodes ago" or "lets have an adventure where we're living it up in the lap of luxury after a huge haul" or whatever.  I'm not really sure how many of these I'd give out, but I figure at least half of the plots should be player initiated or shaped.