News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Sci fi RPGS ... must they be colorless?

Started by LizardLips, January 30, 2004, 12:51:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LizardLips

I've been tinkering with a sci fi RPG for a few months and I'm a bit discouraged. I wanted to play a fast paced space pirates/cowboys games, with tough hombres plying the intersteller lanes in junker starships, their trusty sandalwood blasters hung low by their side, on the run from the law and on the look of for soft belly freighters heavy with plunder.

I looked at GURPS and Traveller (mechanics too deep, crunchy and slow), and I'm sick of the d20 system. I thought about using a lighter rules system like The Pool or FUDGE, but I really dig all the techno-crunchery of spaceships and gear.

I cobbled together a system (light on character skills, heavier on ship and gear rules), but when I stepped back and looked at it, it just seemed so bland. I don't know if I'm trying to cover too many bases, but the skills I outlined are so generic to cover any possible character that they lack flavor. Here, let me show you. Its a simple roll a d10, add skill. Traits (such as "Strong", "Gunslinger" or "Daring") grant a bonus die, take the higher of the two rolls.

Combat    |    Physical    |    Discovery    |    Interaction  |    Technical
Fighting         |    Athletics    |    Find    |    Cunning    |    Operate
Shooting        |    Grace    |    Know    |    Persuade    |    Create
Guts        |    Endurance    |    Notice    |    Command    |    Fix

(That table is just not going to look right. Sorry). Pretty lame skills. I wanted a nice, tight skill list but I've found that I've had to keep the skills so generic that they lack "oomph".

Any suggestions on a way to add some of the frontier flavah my game is lacking?

anonymouse

re: format: know and love the code tags! ;) Right there underneath the Subject box..