The Forge Forums

Independent Game Forums => Adept Press => Topic started by: frictorious on August 10, 2010, 01:55:37 PM



Title: [Sorcerer] Rules Question: Boost
Post by: frictorious on August 10, 2010, 01:55:37 PM
I have a question about the side effect of Boost, and had no luck finding the answer elsewhere. Per the text (p 52), "receiving two Boosts of any kind in rapid succession results in the recipient being Confused." What exactly, is "rapid succession?" Twice in a scene? Two die rolls in a row? Something else?

Also, does the recipient of the Boost get to resist (Will vs. Power), or is the next action automatically lost?

Thanks,

Ryan


Title: Re: [Sorcerer] Rules Question: Boost
Post by: Ron Edwards on August 10, 2010, 04:15:33 PM
Hi there,

My thinking for "rapid succession" would be in two consecutive rounds in a complex conflict, what I called "combat" in the book.

Your second question is interesting, because it implies the second Boost is being used as a weapon. That's totally legal by the rules. If that's what's happening, then I think yes, the target should get a Will roll to resist. This represents a sort of snap judgment on my part, posting here, so if some wise fellow finds an ancient thread in which I stated the opposite and provided a lengthy essay explaining why, then I'll have to take it back.

Best, Ron