About the Forge
|
Articles
|
Forum
|
Reviews
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
August 17, 2022, 06:39:08 PM
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes:
Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:
Advanced search
46709
Posts in
5588
Topics by
13299
Members Latest Member:
-
Jason DAngelo
Most online today:
48
- most online ever:
843
(October 22, 2020, 11:18:00 PM)
The Forge Forums
Independent Game Forums
Adept Press
(Moderator:
Ron Edwards
)
[Sorcerer] Contacting/Total Failure - I must have missed a rule somewhere
Pages: [
1
]
« previous
next »
Author
Topic: [Sorcerer] Contacting/Total Failure - I must have missed a rule somewhere (Read 7737 times)
pygstasis
Registree
Posts: 2
[Sorcerer] Contacting/Total Failure - I must have missed a rule somewhere
«
on:
May 15, 2008, 03:23:29 PM »
In Sorcerer, on page 86, the rules for Contacting with the help of hallucinogens state "the sorcerer must roll his will vs dice equal to the number of hits dropped. Failure means that his will is impaired by one for several weeks; total failure ( no victories) means that the loss is permanent." What I don't understand is what is the difference between failure and total failure? As I understand it, *any* victories rolled would mean the roll was a success. Help in clearing up my confusion will be much appreciated!
Logged
Marshall Burns
Member
Posts: 573
American Wizard
Re: [Sorcerer] Contacting/Total Failure - I must have missed a rule somewhere
«
Reply #1 on:
May 15, 2008, 03:46:31 PM »
I think that if the drugs get a Total Victory, that means you got a Total Failure.
-Marshall
Logged
blogging at the Wizard Exploded Cookbook
Buy these four games at $2 each!
pygstasis
Registree
Posts: 2
Re: [Sorcerer] Contacting/Total Failure - I must have missed a rule somewhere
«
Reply #2 on:
May 15, 2008, 03:51:18 PM »
Doh! That seems so clear now. Thanks for the quick reply!
Logged
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
Posts: 17707
Re: [Sorcerer] Contacting/Total Failure - I must have missed a rule somewhere
«
Reply #3 on:
May 15, 2008, 04:32:34 PM »
Yeah, that's a bit of inadvertent terminology - I was too quick to assign a Capitalized Importance to that outcome. I would have done better to write, "If the values of all of the player's dice are under all the values of the opposing dice," or something like that.
Best, Ron
Logged
Pages: [
1
]
« previous
next »
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
General Forge Forums
-----------------------------
=> Actual Play
=> Game Development
=> Independent Publishing
=> Last Chance Game Chef
=> Site Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Guide to the Archives
-----------------------------
Independent Game Forums
-----------------------------
=> Adept Press
=> lumpley games
-----------------------------
Inactive File
-----------------------------
=> Endeavor: Ronnies 2011
=> Endeavor: Game Chef 2010
=> Endeavor: Game Chef 2011
=> Arkenstone Publishing
=> Beyond the Wire Productions
=> Half Meme Press
=> Universalis