Started by Moreno R., March 22, 2011, 11:55:03 AM
Quote from: Ron Edwards on March 22, 2011, 01:01:06 PMI don't understand the part about narrating her actions as if she were an NPC. She's a player-character and her actions would be narrated and played normally.
QuoteThe important thing to remember is that if a stated Goal in Trollbabe is not met, anything that literally must occur if it is not met, must occur ... but nothing else is mandated. This can be confusing to people who are over-trained in the "stakes" technique. They might think that because Myrna fails, Kalima cannot end up senseless in any way whatsoever; i.e., that Myrna's failing somehow provides a cocoon of "not knocked senseless" around Kalima. Whereas, of course she can, because all Myrna's failure dictates is that she fails to knock Kalima senseless.
Quote2. This problem is simply a matter of timing. The rule is that both conflicts must be played out in full mechanically. How their re-rolls, if any, are timed relative to one another is a matter of local finesse. For instance, when Kalima successfully immobilizes Myrna, the narration at that moment establishes that success but also must leave some opportunity for Myrna to finish her conflict. It doesn't have to be as extreme as your "on hold" phrasing suggests. As you point out, if Relationships are involved, that is pretty easy and doesn't have to concede any mobility to Myrna even temporarily. The big point is that when two trollbabes clash like this, one cannot pre-empt or "simply" beat the other through cleverly stating a Goal that obviates the other's, and winning it "first." That's a predictable dodge, using logic like, "Well, if she's immobilized, she obviously can't hit me, so her whole conflict goes away." Nope. Not in Trollbabe. When two trollbabes try to do things at once, in conflict, both Goals are mechanically on the table, not subject to cancellation. You will all have to narrate accordingly.