Started by Keith, February 16, 2011, 06:08:04 PM
Quote1) Yes, you can. I don't recall what the rules say, precisely, but in play around here we've just gradually dropped all the restrictions on spotting range and target anyway, and not missed them. If you roll a yellow die, you can spot whoever you want.
QuoteFor mechs that have lost a white die, we love to bust off arms or legs or heads.
QuoteOh, and so you know: those campaign rules look good and start strong, but they're broken. Plain old straight up mechanically incompatible with the game's scoring rules, and the strong start just disguises it.
QuoteI owe you (and others) an up to date set of rules, with a new edition to follow. One of these days I'll find the time to put it together.
Quote3) In the new edition, a) you won't lower your defense or spot dice, and b) spots will add directly to the attack roll. A spot will turn a miss into a hit, a weak hit into a strong hit, and a strong hit into holy cow!
Quote from: lumpley on February 18, 2011, 08:42:49 AM3) In the new edition, a) you won't lower your defense or spot dice, and b) spots will add directly to the attack roll. A spot will turn a miss into a hit, a weak hit into a strong hit, and a strong hit into holy cow!
Quote from: Keith on February 20, 2011, 12:31:10 AMI think it helps in two ways:a) not that the old version of spot was at all complicated, but this is simpler. It manges to do basically the same thing with fewer words.b) it fits in more thematically with what spotting attachments are trying to do: make your shots more accurate. Targeting lasers, floodlights, tactical calldowns, all that good stuff, they're trying to help your army find the enemy and hit them good and well. Old spot kind of did that, kinda-sorta, but it didn't also make your misses turn into hits the way this does.