Started by jburneko, April 26, 2012, 02:52:10 PM
Quote from: jburneko on April 26, 2012, 02:52:10 PMFrankly, I've never liked how full defense works as Ron describes above. It creates a weird exception case to the flow of the mechanic and in one instance it contradicts the Sorcerer core rule book. (I can't site a page number because I don't have the book on me but there is a place where it states that people taking only defensive actions do not roll).
Quote from: greyorm on April 26, 2012, 07:12:27 PMand am assuming the above is "the proper way"
Quote from: Ron Edwards on April 27, 2012, 04:24:30 PMIn other words, the mechanical fact that Alice retained her action means that in the fiction, Bob's attack could not possibly achieve its full and finished state that Bob undoubtedly really wanted to do.
QuoteThe problem with that in practice is that in narration, it doesn't differ from "I do nothing."The mechanical difference is that in the book's way, you always get your two-dice bonus against all the attackers (plus). But if you fail against the first, you're basically screwed throughout the round from the get-go (minus). The way I'm talking about doing it, you get the same two-dice bonus (plus), but if it fails against the first or more of the attacks, you get a Hail Mary additional defense per each and every attack, granted, without the bonus, but a fine thing nevertheless.